ACNM Announces its 2022 Gold Medal Award: Peter S. Conti, MD, PhD, FACNM, FACR

The ACNM Leadership is proud to announce Peter S. Conti, MD, PhD, FACNM, FACR, as the 2022 ACNM 2022 Gold Medal Award recipient, presented during the ACNM 2022 Annual Meeting.

Dr. Conti is currently a tenured Professor of Radiology, Biomedical Engineering and Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Southern California. He holds dual certification by the American Board of Nuclear Medicine and the American Board of Radiology and is a Fellow of the American College of Radiology, the American College of Nuclear Medicine and the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging. Dr. Conti has made numerous contributions to the field of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging throughout his 40-year career, with over 200 peer-reviewed papers, 300 hundred scientific presentations, 3 books and 12 book chapters. He is an internationally recognized teacher with over 200 invited lectures at institutions around the world and has been recognized as an outstanding mentor by the Mellon Foundation. He has received over $20 million in grant fund throughout his career and holds 14 patents in MI technologies.  

Dr. Conti has made many contributions to governance and education in MI-related societies, including the SNMMI, RSNA, ACR, ICP, WMIS, and the ACNM. At the SNMMI, he served as President (2004-5), a board member (1998-2009), and in numerous committee leadership positions, and at ACNM serves as a current and past (2009-12) board member. During his time as President of the SNMMI, he successfully led a $5 million Molecular Imaging Campaign for the SNMMI/ERF, along with the creation of the “Center” concept within the SNMMI, introducing the PET Center of Excellence. Now, as past-President and current Chair of Fundraising Committee of the Education and Research Foundation, he continues to work garnering philanthropic support for the field.

Dr. Conti has been recognized on numerous occasions for his contributions to the field.  He received the ACNM President’s Award in 2020 and Lifetime Achievement award in 2019, while the SNMMI awarded him The Peter Valk Award (2018), the Paul Aebersold Award (2016) and the President’s Distinguished Service Award (2001). In 2020, he received the Benedict Cassen Prize from the Education and Research Foundation.